0
Facebook Twitter Pinterst Linkedin Blog Online Continuing Education for Healthcare Professionals

Georgia

< Return to State CE Requirements page


Georgia continuing education (CE) requirements:

Psychologists

Georgia Board of Psychology 
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years 
Online CE Allowed: 10 hours (home study & online courses considered Area V) 
License Expiration: 12/31, even years 
National Accreditation Accepted: APA 
Notes: 6 hours of professional ethics at a personally attended workshop,
Date of Info: 6/30/2020

*Note: 
IN PERSON CE HOURS REQUIREMENT WAIVED FOR THE DECEMBER 31, 2020 EXPIRATION DATE/RENEWAL CYCLE

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, notwithstanding any other rule or provision of law, and pursuant to OCGA § 43-39-15:  The requirements of in person attendance or participation for obtainment of continuing education hours for the 2020 renewal cycle are hereby waived.

All continuing education hours must be obtained, but the hours may be obtained online, through webinars, SKYPE, ZOOM or other electronic means.

Continuing Education Hours for the reactivation or reinstatement of a lapsed or revoked license also may be obtained online for applications received on or before December 31, 2020.

Adopted 03/20/2020/Revised 05/22/2020

Georgia psychologists can earn up to 10 hours per renewal through online courses offered on the psychology page of this website. Click here to view online CE courses for psychologists.  


Counselors

Georgia Board of Professional Counselors, Social Workers & MFTs 
CE Required: 35 hours every 2 years 
Online CE Allowed: 10 hours 
License Expiration: 9/30, even years 
National Accreditation Accepted: ASWB, NBCC, APA 
Notes: 5 hrs professional ethics req'd each renewal (cannot be done online) 
Date of Info: 4/24/2020

Georgia counselors can earn up to 10 hours per renewal through online courses offered on the counseling page of this website. Click here to view NBCC-approved online CE courses

COVID-19 UPDATE: Due to the COVID-19 State of Emergency, for the 2018-2020 renewal cycle only, there shall be no limit on the number of continuing education hours, including ethics hours, that may be obtained online, by any method. This rule shall be effective for the duration of the emergency and for a period of not more than 120 days thereafter.


Speech-Language Pathologists (SLPs)

Georgia Board of SLP/A 
CE Required: 20 hours every 2 years (40 if dual licensed) 
Online CE Allowed: No limit (must have post-test) 
License Expiration: 3/31, odd years 
National Accreditation Accepted: Pre-approval not required 
Notes: Must meet board requirements and have certificate. Max 2 hours ethics, record keeping, documentation, Georgia laws and rules, Medicaid/Medicare Regulations
Date of Info: 10/26/2017

Georgia SLPs can earn all 20 hours per renewal through online courses offered on the speech-language pathology page of this website. Click here to view ASHA-approved online CEU courses.

 

Social Workers

Georgia Board of Professional Counselors, Social Workers & MFTs 
CE Required: 35 hours every 2 years 
Online CE Allowed: 10 hours
License Expiration: 9/30, even years 
National Accreditation Accepted: ASWB, NBCC, APA 
Notes: 5 hrs professional ethics req'd each renewal (cannot be done online)
Date of Info: 4/24/2020

Georgia social workers can earn up to 10 hours per renewal through online courses offered on the social work page of this website. Click here to view ASWB-approved online CE courses.

COVID-19 UPDATE: Due to the COVID-19 State of Emergency, for the 2018-2020 renewal cycle only, there shall be no limit on the number of continuing education hours, including ethics hours, that may be obtained online, by any method. This rule shall be effective for the duration of the emergency and for a period of not more than 120 days thereafter.

 

Occupational Therapists (OTs)

Georgia Board of OT 
CE Required: 24 hours every 2 years 
Online CE Allowed: 12 hours (12 must be live)
License Expiration: 3/31, even years 
National Accreditation Accepted: AOTA
Notes: 2 hrs in ethics of OT practice req'd each renewal. 14 hrs must relate to "hands on" patient care. Effective April 2018, all courses must be reported to CE Broker (we report to CE Broker for you!).
Date of Info: 7/26/2018

View Blog: Georgia OTs & CE Broker

Georgia OTs can earn up to 12 hours per renewal through online courses offered on the occupational therapy page of this website. Click here to view AOTA-approved online CEU courses.

 

Marriage & Family Therapists (MFTs)

Georgia Board of Professional Counselors, Social Workers & MFTs
CE Required: 35 hours every 2 years 
Online CE Allowed: 10 hours 
License Expiration: 9/30, even years 
National Accreditation Accepted: ASWB, NBCC, APA 
Notes: 5 hrs professional ethics req'd each renewal (cannot be done online)
Date of Info: 4/24/2020

Georgia MFTs can earn up to 10 hours per renewal through online courses offered on the marriage & family therapy page of this website. Click here to view NBCC-approved online CE courses.

COVID-19 UPDATE: Due to the COVID-19 State of Emergency, for the 2018-2020 renewal cycle only, there shall be no limit on the number of continuing education hours, including ethics hours, that may be obtained online, by any method. This rule shall be effective for the duration of the emergency and for a period of not more than 120 days thereafter.

 

Dietitians & Nutritionists (RDNs)

Georgia Board of Examiners of Licensed Dietitians 
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years 
Online CE Allowed: No limit 
License Expiration: 3/31, even years 
National Accreditation Accepted: CDR 
Notes: Must have post-test and certificate
Date of Info: 10/27/2017

Georgia dietitians/nutritionists can earn all 30 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the nutrition & dietetics page of this website. Click here to view CDR-approved online CE courses.

School Psychologists

Georgia Professional Standards Commission

In Georgia, there is a temporary provision that does not require any continuing education for the next 5 years (this is related to the current state of the economy). Renewal could also be done by submission of a valid NCSP or a valid State of Georgia Psychologist license. 

Date of Info: 07/13/2016