0
Facebook Google+ Linkedin Pinterst Twitter Blog Online Continuing Education for Healthcare Professionals

Louisiana

< Return to State CE Requirements page


Louisiana continuing education (CE) requirements:


Psychologists

Louisiana Board of Examiners of Psychologists
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years
Home Study Allowed: 39* (*CE from at least 2 of 9 categories must be taken. 39 can be APA-approved home study, like PDR)
License Expiration: 7/31, annually - CE due 6/30 every 2 years (even/odd license # - even/odd years) 
National Accreditation Accepted: APA 
Notes: 2 hours ethics or law required for renewal 
Date of Info
: 08/21/2017

Louisiana psychologists can earn up to 39* hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the psychology page of this website. Click here to view APA-approved online CE courses

 

Counselors

Louisiana LPC Board of Examiners 
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years 
Online CE Allowed: 20 hours
License Expiration: 6/30, every 2 years 
National Accreditation Accepted: NBCC
Notes: 3 hours in ethics & 6 hours in diagnosis required each renewal. MHC (LPC) Supervisors need 3 hours of supervision
Date of Info
: 08/21/2017

Louisiana Counselors can earn up to 20 hours for renewal through online courses offered on the Counseling page of this site. Click here to view NBCC-approved online CE courses

"The distinction between home study and online, is online means completely online. The lecture/webinar, course work, tests, etc. will all be online, whereas home study requires physical materials (textbook, journal, test) to be mailed to you and only some aspects will be online." - Board distinction between online (limited to 20 hours per renewal) and home study courses (limited to 10 hours per renewal).


Speech-Language Pathologists (SLPs)

Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech Language Pathology & Audiology  
CE Required: 10 hours per year, 15 if dual licensed 
Home Study Allowed: No limit if ASHA-approved
License Expiration: 6/30, annually 
National Accreditation Accepted: ASHA
Notes: 5 hours must be in area of licensure 
Date of Info
: 08/21/2017

Louisiana SLPs can earn all 10 hours (15 if dual licensed) required for renewal through online courses offered on the speech-language pathology page of this website. Click here to view ASHA-approved online CEU courses.

 

Social Workers

Louisiana Board of Social Work Examiners 
CE Required: 20 hours per year 
Online CE Allowed: 10 hours (distance learning) 
License Expiration: 8/31, annually - CE must be completed by 6/30 
National Accreditation Accepted: ASWB 
Notes: 3 hours SW ethics required every other renewal; LCSW-BACS are required to obtain three (3) hours in the area of clinical supervision every two years to maintain Board Approved Clinical Supervisor (BACS) designation
Date of Info: 08/21/2017

Louisiana social workers can earn up to 10 hours (distance learning) for renewal through online courses offered on the social work page of this website. Click here to view ASWB-approved online CE courses.

 

Occupational Therapists (OTs)

Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners 
CE Required: 12 hours per year 
Online CE Allowed: No limit if AOTA-approved 
License Expiration: Last day of birth month, annually 
National Accreditation Accepted: AOTA (Professional Development Resources is an AOTA-approved provider #3159)
Date of Info: 8/13/2018

Louisiana OTs can earn all 12 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the occupational therapy page of this website. Click here to view AOTA-approved online CEU courses.

Marriage & Family Therapists (MFTs)

Louisiana LPC Board of Examiners 
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years (20 hrs must directly relate to MFT) 
Online CE Allowed: 40 hours if AAMFT approved (not PDR)
License Expiration: 12/31, every 2 years 
National Accreditation Accepted: AAMFT (not PDR)
Notes: 3 hours MFT ethics required for renewal (general course will not count)
Date of Info
: 08/22/2017

Dietitians & Nutritionists (RDNs)

Louisiana Board of Examiners in Dietetics & Nutrition  
CE Required: 15 hours per year or current CDR card 
Online CE Allowed: No limit (distance learning) 
License Expiration: 6/30, annually 
National Accreditation Accepted: CDR 
Date of Info: 08/22/2017

Louisiana dietitians/nutritionists can earn all 15 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the nutrition & dietetics page of this website. Click here to view CDR-approved online CE courses.