0
Facebook Twitter Pinterst Linkedin Blog Online Continuing Education for Healthcare Professionals

Massachusetts

< Return to State CE Requirements page


Massachusetts continuing education (CE) requirements:

Psychologists

Massachusetts Board of Registration of Psychologists 
CE Required: 20 hours every 2 years 
Online CE Allowed: No limit if APA approved 
License Expiration: 6/30, even years 
National Accreditation Accepted: APA (Professional Development Resources is approved by the American Psychological Association (APA) to sponsor continuing education for psychologists)

Note: As part of the Acts of 2014, Chapter 260, An Act Relative to Domestic Violence, Section 9, the Massachusetts Department of Public Health was tasked with creating a domestic and sexual violence training for professionals receiving licensure from the Board of Registration of Psychologists. In order to meet this requirement, please click this link to start the training: Training for Licensed Professionals to meet Chapter 260 Requirements

PDR is NOT an approved provider for this training.

Date of Info: 8/13/2019

Counselors

Massachusetts Board of Registration of Allied Health Professionals
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years
Online CE Allowed: 15 hours (50%)
License Expiration: 12/31, odd years 
National Accreditation Accepted: NBCC (Professional Development Resources is an NBCC-approved provider #5590)

Note: As part of the Acts of 2014, Chapter 260, An Act Relative to Domestic Violence, Section 9, the Massachusetts Department of Public Health was tasked with creating a domestic and sexual violence training for professionals receiving licensure from the Board of Registration of Allied Mental Health and Human Services Professions. In order to meet this requirement, please click this link to start the training: Training for Licensed Professionals to meet Chapter 260 Requirements

PDR is NOT an approved provider for this training.

Date of Info: 8/13/2019

 

Speech-Language Pathologists (SLPs)

Massachusetts Board of Registration in SLP & A 
CE Required: 20 hours every 2 years (30 if dual licensed)
Online CE Allowed: No limit 
License Expiration: 1/6, even years
National Accreditation Accepted: ASHA (Professional Development Resources is approved by the Continuing Education Board of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA Provider #AAUM) to provide continuing education activities in speech-language pathology and audiology)
Notes: Minimum of 10 hrs in area of licensure 
Date of Info
: 8/13/2019

Massachusetts SLPs can earn all 20 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the speech-language pathology page of this website. Click here to view ASHA-approved online CEU courses.

 

Social Workers

Massachusetts Board of Registration of Social Workers 
CE Required: LICSW-30; LCSW-20; LSW-15; LSWA-10 hours every 2 years 
Online CE Allowed: No limit
License Expiration: Date of Birth, every 2 years from October 1st, 2018. For example: when you renew your license that expires on October 1st, 2018 and your birthday is December 1, your expiration date will be December 1st, 2020.
National Accreditation Accepted: ASWB (Professional Development Resources is approved by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB ACE Approval #1046)) to sponsor continuing education for social workers)

Note: As part of the Acts of 2014, Chapter 260, An Act Relative to Domestic Violence, Section 9, the Massachusetts Department of Public Health was tasked with creating a domestic and sexual violence training for professionals receiving licensure from the Board of Registration of Social Workers. In order to meet this requirement, please click this link to start the training: Training for Licensed Professionals to meet Chapter 260 Requirements

PDR is NOT an approved provider for this training.

Date of Info: 8/13/2019 Please note that we have been unable to verify the online allowance for CE at this time. In 2017 social workers were allowed to complete all of their CE requirements on line with ASWB approved providers. We will conitnue to check the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Social Workers for more up to date information.

 

Occupational Therapists (OTs)

Massachusetts Board of Registration in Allied Health Professions 
CE Required: No 
Online CE Allowed: N/A 
License Expiration: DOB, every 2 years
National Accreditation Accepted: N/A 
Date of Info: 8/13/2019

MA does not currently have a requirement for CE as a condition of license renewal for Occupational Therapists. It is recommended that all licensees engage in continuing competence.

 

Marriage & Family Therapists (MFTs)

Massachusetts Board of Registration of Allied Health Professionals 
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years
Online CE Allowed: 15 hours (50%)
License Expiration: 12/31, odd years 
National Accreditation Accepted: AAMFT (we are not approved for MFTs)

Note: As part of the Acts of 2014, Chapter 260, An Act Relative to Domestic Violence, Section 9, the Massachusetts Department of Public Health was tasked with creating a domestic and sexual violence training for professionals receiving licensure from the Board of Registration of Social Workers. In order to meet this requirement, please click this link to start the training: Training for Licensed Professionals to meet Chapter 260 Requirements

PDR is NOT an approved provider for this training.

Date of Info: 8/13/2019

 

Dietitians & Nutritionists (RDNs)

Massachusetts Board of Registration of Dietitians & Nutritionists
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years 
Online CE Allowed: No limit 
License Expiration: DOB, every 2 years 
National Accreditation Accepted: CDR 
Notes: All courses must be in nutrition (no business)
Date of Info: 8/13/2019

Massachusetts dietitians/nutritionists can earn all 30 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the nutrition & dietetics page of this website. Click here to view CDR-approved online CE courses.