0
Facebook Twitter Pinterst Linkedin Blog Online Continuing Education for Healthcare Professionals

Michigan

< Return to State CE Requirements page


Michigan continuing education (CE) requirements:

* Michigan now requires that ALL licensed healthcare professionals complete a one-time training on identifying victims of human trafficking, beginning with the 2017 renewal cycle. This training requirement will need to be completed prior to the license renewal in 2019. The training is not a part of your on-going continuing education.

Psychologists

Michigan Board of Psychology 
CE Required: 30 hours every two years
Online CE Allowed: No limit
License Expiration: 8/31, every 2 years 
National Accreditation Accepted: APA
Notes: 2 hours of pain management (including, but are not limited to: courses in behavior management, psychology of pain, pharmacology, behavior modification, stress management, clinical applications, and drug interventions as they relate to professional practice. and symptoms); 3 hours of ethics are required at each renewal; One time requirement of Training to Identify Victims of Human Trafficking with initial licensure. This is separate from continuing education 
Date of Info: 3/31/2021

Michigan psychologists can earn all 30 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the psychology page of this website. Click here to view online CE courses for psychologists. 

 

Counselors

Michigan Board of Counseling  
CE Required: No 
Online CE Allowed: N/A 
License Expiration: 5/31, every 2 years 
National Accreditation Accepted: The law for Counseling does not require continuing education for renewal. A licensee is responsible for maintaining their competence in the profession, but a licensee does not have to demonstrate the ways he or she is doing that for renewal.
Notes: One time requirement of Training to Identify Victims of Human Trafficking with initial licensure.

Date of Info: 3/31/2021

 

Speech-Language Pathologists (SLPs)

Michigan Board of Speech Language Pathology 
CE Required: 20 hours (CPD credits) every 2 years
Online CE Allowed: 15 hours
License Expiration: 9/30 every two years
National Accreditation Accepted: ASHA
Notes: One time requirement of 1-hour of Training to Identify Victims of Human Trafficking with initial licensure. This is separate from continuing education; 1 CPD credit in pain and symptom management required to renew
Date of Info: 3/31/2021

Michigan speech-language pathologists can earn up to 15 hours for renewal through online courses offered on the speech-language pathology page of this website. Click here to view ASHA-approved online CE courses.

 

Social Workers

Michigan Board of Social Work
CE Required: 45 hours every 3 years 
Online CE Allowed: 22 hours (A minimum of half of total CE required per renewal must be live)
License Expiration: 4/30, every 3 years  
National Accreditation Accepted: ASWB 
Notes: 2 hrs human trafficking (note: PDR's cousre is only one hour); 5 hrs ethics; 2 hr pain management required each renewal
Date of Info: 3/31/2021

Michigan social workers can earn up to 22 hours for renewal through online courses offered on the social work page of this website. Click here to view ASWB-approved online CE courses.

 

Occupational Therapists (OTs)

Michigan Board of Occupational Therapy 
CE Required: 20 Hours
Online CE Allowed: 10
License Expiration: 5/31, every 2 years 
National Accreditation Accepted: AOTA
Notes: One time requirement of 1-hour of Training to Identify Victims of Human Trafficking with initial licensure. This is separate from continuing education.  1-hour pain management (including, but not limited to behavior management, psychology of pain, pharmacology, behavior modification, stress management, clinical applications, and drug interventions as they relate to OT practice.)
Date of Info: 3/31/2021

Michigan occupational therapists can earn up to 10 hours for renewal through online courses offered on the occupational therapy page of this website. Click here to view AOTA-approved online CE courses.

 

Marriage & Family Therapists (MFTs)

Michigan Board of MFT  
CE Required: No 
Online CE Allowed: N/A 
License Expiration: 1/31, every 2 years 
National Accreditation Accepted: The law for Marriage & Family Therapy does not require continuing education for renewal. You are responsible for maintaining your competence in your profession, but you do not have to demonstrate the ways you are doing that for renewal.
Notes: One time requirement of Training to Identify Victims of Human Trafficking with initial licensure.
Date of Info: 3/31/2021

 

 

Dietitians & Nutritionists (RDNs)

Michigan Board of Dietitians & Nutritionists 
CE Required: No 
Online CE Allowed: N/A 
License Expiration: N/A
National Accreditation Accepted: N/A
Notes: On July 1, 2014, Governor Snyder signed into law Public Act 267 of 2014, which repeals the licensure requirements for dieticians and nutritionists. This act also abolishes the Board of Dietetics and Nutrition.
Date of Info: 3/31/2021