0
Facebook Twitter Pinterst Linkedin Blog Online Continuing Education for Healthcare Professionals

Oregon

< Return to State CE Requirements page


Oregon continuing education (CE) requirements:

Psychologists

Oregon Board of Psychologist Examiners 
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years, of which:
4 hrs Professional Ethics and/or Oregon State laws and regulations related to the practice of psychology is required each renewal 
4 hours of cultural competency is required at each renewal
Online CE Allowed: 20 hours (Home Study) 
License Expiration: Birth month, every 2 years (even # licensees report odd years, odd # licensees report even years) 
National Accreditation Accepted: Licensee responsible for documenting acceptability of credit 
Date of Info: 10/7/2021

Oregon psychologists can earn up to 20 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the psychology page of this website. Click here to view online CE courses for psychologists. 

 

Counselors and Marriage & Family Therapists (MFTs)

Temporary Requirements (2020 CE Extension for COVID-19)

The Board has granted a temporary CE extension in response to the novel coronavirus emergency.  There is no CE reporting or auditing in the year 2020.  CE will instead be reported and audited in 2022.

  • LPCs and LMFTs must complete at least 80 clock hours of continuing education (CE) during the 48-month reporting period, which must include:
    • 12 clock hours clock hours of training in professional ethics and/or Oregon State laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of professional counseling or marriage and family therapy;
    • 8 clock hours of training in cultural competency; and
    • For licensees who supervise registered associates, including all licensees on the Supervisor Registry, 6 clock hours of supervision-related training.
  • Your CE "reporting period" is the 48-month period from your license renewals, reported at your 2022 license renewal.
    • For example, if your birth month is June, your CE reporting period would be from July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2022.  You will need to report your minimum 80 clock hours of CE when you renew your license in June, 2022.
    • Individuals licensed less than 12 months in 2020 will report 40 hours in 2022. Those licensed between 12 and 23 months in 2020 will report 60 hours in 2022.  For example, if your birth month is September and you are initially licensed in August 2019, then you would report a minimum of 60 clock hours of CE when you renew in September 2022.


Oregan Board of Licensed Counselors and Therapists

CE Required
: 40 hours every 2 years
Online CE Allowed: No limit 
License Expiration: Last day of birth month, even years 
National Accreditation Accepted: NBCC
Note: Six (6) hours of ethics required at each renewal; 4 hours cultural competenecy each renewal; 3 hours supervision if required each renewal
Date of Info: 10/7/2021

Oregon counselors and marriage & family therapists can earn all 40 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the counseling page or the marriage and family therapy page of this website. Click here to view NBCC-approved online CE courses.

 

Speech-Language Pathologists (SLPs)

Oregon Board of Examiners for Speech Language Pathology & Audiology 
CE Required: 20 hours every 2 years
Online CE Allowed: No limit (must have posttest) 
License Expiration: 12/31, odd years 
National Accreditation Accepted: ASHA
Notes: 
Date of Info: 10/7/2021

Oregon SLPs can earn all 20 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the speech-language pathology page of this website. Click here to view ASHA-approved online CEU courses.

 

Social Workers

Oregon Board of Licensed Social Workers 
CE Required: 40 hours every 2 years (LCSW)
Online CE Allowed: No limit 
License Expiration: DOB, annually (CE due every 2 years - even/odd license # - even/odd years)
National Accreditation Accepted: ASWB, APA, NBCC
Notes: Six (6) hours of ethics required at each renewal. Courses must be clinical in nature.
Date of Info: 10/7/2021

Oregon social workers can earn up all 40 hours for renewal through online courses offered on the social work page of this website. Click here to view ASWB-approved online CE courses.

 

Occupational Therapists (OTs)

Oregon Occupational Therapy Licensing Board  
CE Required: 30 points (hours) every 2 years 
Online CE Allowed: No limit 
License Expiration: 5/1, even years 
National Accreditation Accepted: AOTA
Notes: 1 hour cultural competency each renewal
Date of Info: 10/7/2021

Oregon OTs can earn all 30 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the occupational therapy page of this website. Click here to view AOTA-approved online CEU courses.
 

Dietitians & Nutritionists (RDNs)

Oregon Board of Examiners of Licensed Dietetics 
CE Required: 15 hours annually OR current CDR card 
Online CE Allowed: No limit 
License Expiration: DOI, annually
National Accreditation Accepted: CDR
Date of Info: 10/7/2021

Oregon dietitians/nutritionists can earn all 15 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the nutrition & dietetics page of this website. Click here to view CDR-approved online CE courses.