0
Facebook Twitter Pinterst Linkedin Blog Online Continuing Education for Healthcare Professionals

Pennsylvania

< Return to State CE Requirements page


Pennsylvania continuing education (CE) requirements:

Suicide Prevention Continuing Education (CE)
: On July 8, 2016, the governor of Pennsylvania signed into law the Matt Adler Suicide Prevention Continuing Education Act. This legislation requires that licensed psychologists, social workers, marriage and family therapists, and professional counselors seeking to have their licenses renewed complete at least one hour of continuing education in the assessment, treatment, and management of suicide risk.

To fulfill the growing requirement for suicide prevention training, Professional Development Resources created a 3-hour online continuing education (CE) course that reviews evidence-based research and offers strategies for screening, assessment, treatment, and prevention of suicide in both adolescents and adults: 
Suicide Prevention: Evidence-Based Strategies

Act 31 of 2014 Child Abuse Recognition AND Reporting Continuing Education (CE): All health related licnese/certificate holders are considered "mandatory reporters" under section 6311 of the Child Protective Services Law (23 P.S. § 6311). Therefore as a condition of biennial renewal, you are required to complete 2 hours of approved training on the topic of child abuse recognition and reporting from an approved provider. Child Abuse Courses taken with PDR are not accepted. You must choose a provider as listed on the Board's website www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Pages/Act-31.aspx. Continuing education results must be submitted electronically from the provider.  This process can take up to seven days. If you have questions regarding the submission of the continuing education, please contact the approved provider directly before contacting the Board. For more information on the mandatory reporting requirements, please visit http://keepkidssafe.pa.gov/.

Psychologists

Pennsylvania State Board of Psychology 
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years
Online CE Allowed: 15 hours (home study) Note: Effective January 1, 2021, licensees are permitted to renew their license at their next renewal that comes after January 1, 2021, utilizing CE obtained through either traditional, in-person courses or by means of distance learningThis means that licensees may satisfy up to 100 percent of their CE requirements for their next renewal with hours obtained entirely through online courses from providers of distance education that meet the applicable board's continuing education requirements. This waiver remains in effect until March 31st, 2022. All 30 hours of CE may be completed with PDR.
License Expiration: 11/30, odd years 
National Accreditation Accepted: APA 
Notes: 3 hrs ethics required each renewal; 1 hr suicide prevention required each renrewal; 2 hrs child abuse recognition & reporting required each renewal (Note: PDR's Domestic Violence course is not accepted)
Date of Info: 1/28/2021

Pennsylvania psychologists can earn up to 15 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the psychology page of this website. Click here to view online CE courses for psychologists.

 

Counselors

Pennsylvania State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors 
CE Required: 30 every 2 years
Online CE Allowed: 20 hours Note: Effective January 1, 2021, licensees are permitted to renew their license at their next renewal that comes after January 1, 2021, utilizing CE obtained through either traditional, in-person courses or by means of distance learning. This means that licensees may satisfy up to 100 percent of their CE requirements for their next renewal with hours obtained entirely through online courses from providers of distance education that meet the applicable board's continuing education requirements. This waiver remains in effect until March 31st, 2022. All 30 hours of CE may be completed with PDR.
License Expiration: 2/28, odd years
Approval Accepted: ASWB, NBCC, APA 
Notes: 3 hours in ethics required each renewal; 1 hr suicide prevention required each renewal; 2 hrs child abuse recognition & reporting required each renewal (Note: PDR's Domestic Violence course is not accepted)
Date of Info: 10/13/2021

Pennsylvania counselors can earn up to 20 hours per renewal through online courses offered on the counseling page of this website. Click here to view NBCC-approved online CE courses.

 

Speech-Language Pathologists (SLPs)

Pennsylvania Board of Speech, Language & Hearing Examiners 
CE Required: 20 hours every 2 years
Online CE Allowed: No limit 
License Expiration: 7/31, even years 
National Accreditation Accepted: ASHA
Notes: 2 hrs  child abuse recognition and reporting required at each renewal. (Note: PDR's Domestic Violence course is not accepted) Office management/practice building courses not accepted.
Date of Info: 10/13/2021

Pennsylvania SLPs can earn all 20 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the speech-language pathology page of this website. Click here to view ASHA-approved online CEU courses.

 

Social Workers

Pennsylvania State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors 
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years
Online CE Allowed: 20 hours Note: Effective January 1, 2021, licensees are permitted to renew their license at their next renewal that comes after January 1, 2021, utilizing CE obtained through either traditional, in-person courses or by means of distance learning. This means that licensees may satisfy up to 100 percent of their CE requirements for their next renewal with hours obtained entirely through online courses from providers of distance education that meet the applicable board's continuing education requirements. This waiver remains in effect until March 31st, 2022. All 30 hours of CE may be completed with PDR.
License Expiration: 2/28, odd years 
National Accreditation Accepted: ASWB, APA, NBCC 
Notes: 3 hrs ethics required each renewal; 1 hr suicide prevention required each renewal; 2 hrs of continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting required each renewal (Note: PDR's Domestic Violence course is not accepted); No office management or practice building courses allowed.
Date of Info: 10/13/2021

Pennsylvania social workers can earn up to 20 hours for renewal through online courses offered on the social work page of this website. Click here to view ASWB-approved online CE courses.

 

Occupational Therapists (OTs)

Pennsylvania State Board of Occupational Therapy 
CE Required: 24 every 2 years   
Online CE Allowed: No limit
License Expiration:
 6/30, odd years 
National Accreditation Accepted: AOTA
Notes: 2 hrs child abuse recognition & reporting required each renewal (Note: PDR's Domestic Violence course is not accepted)
Date of Info:
 10/13/2021

Pennsylvania OTs can earn 22 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the occupational therapy page of this website. Click here to view AOTA-approved online CEU courses.

 

Marriage & Family Therapists (MFTs)

Pennsylvania State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors 
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years 
Online CE Allowed: 20 hours Note: Effective January 1, 2021, licensees are permitted to renew their license at their next renewal that comes after January 1, 2021, utilizing CE obtained through either traditional, in-person courses or by means of distance learning. This means that licensees may satisfy up to 100 percent of their CE requirements for their next renewal with hours obtained entirely through online courses from providers of distance education that meet the applicable board's continuing education requirements. This waiver remains in effect until March 31st, 2022. All 30 hours of CE may be completed with PDR.
License Expiration: 12/31, every 2 years from initial 
National Accreditation Accepted: NBCC, APA, ASWB
Notes: 3 hrs ethics required each renewal; 1 hr suicide prevention required each renewal; 2 hrs of continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting required each renewal (Note: PDR's Domestic Violence course is not accepted)No office management or practice building courses allowed. 
Date of Info
: 10/13/2021

Pennsylvania MFTs can earn up to 20 hours per renewal through online courses offered on the marriage & family therapy page of this website. Click here to view NBCC-approved online CE courses.

 

Dietitians & Nutritionists (RDNs)

Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing  
CE Required: 30 hours every 2 years 
Online CE Allowed: No limit 
License Expiration: 9/30, even years 
National Accreditation Accepted: ACN, AND (PDR courses are CDR approved)
Notes: 2 hrs of continuing education in child abuse recognition and reporting required each renewal (Note: PDR's Domestic Violence course is not accepted)
Date of Info: 10/13/2021

Pennsylvania dietitians/nutritionists can earn 28 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the nutrition & dietetics page of this website. Click here to view CDR-approved online CE courses.