0
Facebook Google+ Linkedin Pinterst Twitter Blog Online Continuing Education for Healthcare Professionals

Virginia

< Return to State CE Requirements page


Virginia continuing education (CE) requirements:

Psychologists

Virginia Board of Psychology 
CE Required: 14 hours per year
Online CE Allowed: 6 hours (half of hours must be face to face) 
License Expiration: 6/30, annually 
National Accreditation Accepted: APA 
Notes: 1.5 hrs in ethics, standards of practice or laws governing the profession of psychology
Date of Info: 8/29/2018

Virginia psychologists can earn up to 8 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the psychology page of this website. Click here to view APA-approved online CE courses

 

Counselors

Virginia Board Of Counseling 
CE Required: 20 hours per year
Online CE Allowed: No limit
License Expiration: 6/30, annually
National Accreditation Accepted: APA, NBCC
Notes: 2 hrs in ethics, standards of practice, or laws governing behavioral science professions in Virginia required each renewal
Date of Info: 8/29/2018

Virginia counselors can earn up to 20 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the counseling page of this website. Click here to view NBCC-approved online CE courses.

 

Speech-Language Pathologists (SLPs)

Virginia Board of Audiology & SLP 
CE Required: 10 hours every year (15 if dual-licensed)
Online CE Allowed: No limit if ASHA approved
License Expiration: 12/31, annually
National Accreditation Accepted: ASHA
Date of Info: 8/29/2018

Virginia SLPs can earn all 10 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the speech-language pathology page of this website. Click here to view ASHA-approved online CEU courses.

 

Social Workers

Virginia Board of Social Work 
CE Required: LCSW: 30 hours every 2 years (min 20 hrs Cat 1) / LSW: 15 hours every 2 years (min 10 hrs Cat 1)
Home Study Allowed: No limit if ASWB approved (Category 1 "formal" courses)
License Expiration: 6/30, odd years 
National Accreditation Accepted: ASWB, licensee must determine if course appropriate
Notes: 2 hrs ethics, standards of practice, or laws governing behavior science professions in VA

Renewal Explanation for 2015 Regulation Changes

In 2010, the Board introduced changes to the Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work to require licensees to renew their license on an annual basis, rather than a biannual basis. The amended Regulations became effective on December 30, 2015. The Regulations now require that CE hours are completed prior to licensure renewal in even years beginning with the 2017 renewals. The chart below provides clarification as to the number of CE hours required for each renewal period.

 2017 Renewal
Renewal: June 30, 2017
2018 Renewal
Renewal: June 30, 2018
2019 Renewal
Renewal: June 30, 2019
2020 Renewal
Renewal: June 30, 2020
 FEECEFEECEFEECEFEECE
Licensed Clinical
Social Worker (LCSW)
$90.00 30 hours of CE from 07/01/2015 to 06/30/2017 $90.00

15 hours of CE from 07/01/2017 to 06/30/2018
with a minimum of 1 hours of ethics, standards of practice or laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia.

$90.00 No CE required to renew license $90.00

30 hours of CE from 07/01/2018 to 06/30/2020
with a minimum of 2 hours of ethics, standards of practice or laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia.

Licensed
Social Worker (LSW)
$65.00 15 hours of CE from 07/01/2015 to 06/30/2017 $65.00

7.5 hours of CE from 07/01/2017 to 06/30/2018
with a minimum of 1 hours of ethics, standards of practice or laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia.

$65.00 No CE required to renew license $65.00

15 hours of CE from 07/01/2018 to 06/30/2020
with a minimum of 2 hours of ethics, standards of practice or laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia.

Registered Social Worker $25.00 N/A $25.00 N/A $25.00 N/A $25.00 N/A
Associate Social Worker $25.00 N/A $25.00 N/A $25.00 N/A $25.00 N/A

 

Date of Info: 8/29/2018


Virginia social workers can earn up to (30 for LCSW) and (15 for LSW) hours for renewal through online courses offered on the social work page of this website. Click here to view ASWB-approved online CE courses.

 

Occupational Therapists (OTs)

Virginia Occupational Therapy Advisory Board  
CE Required: 20 hours every 2 years
Home Study Allowed: No limit if AOTA approved (Type 1) 
License Expiration: DOB, even years 
National Accreditation Accepted: AOTA
Notes: Minimum of 10 hours from Type 1 courses (sponsored) 
Date of Info: 8/29/2018

Virginia OTs can earn all 20 hours required for renewal through online courses offered on the occupational therapy page of this website. Click here to view AOTA-approved online CEU courses.


Marriage & Family Therapists (MFTs)

Virginia Board Of Counseling  
CE Required: 20 hours per year
Online CE Allowed: No limit
License Expiration: 6/30, annually
National Accreditation Accepted: APA, NBCC
Notes: 2 hrs in ethics, standards of practice, or laws required each renewal
Date of Info: 8/29/2018

Virginia MFTs can earn all 20 hours per renewal through online courses offered on the marriage & family therapy page of this website. Click here to view NBCC-approved online CE courses.

 

Dietitians & Nutritionists (RDNs)

Virginia Board of Health Professions 
CE Required: No
Home Study Allowed: N/A
License Expiration: N/A 
National Accreditation Accepted: N/A 
Date of Info: 8/29/2018